When you delete your account, people won't be able to see it on Facebook. It may take up to 90 days from the beginning of the deletion process to delete all of the things you've posted, like your photos, status updates or other data stored in backup systems. While we are deleting this information, it is inaccessible to other people using Facebook.
Some of the things you do on Facebook aren't stored in your account.
For example, a friend may still have messages from you even after you delete your account. That information remains after you delete your account.
How to Permanently Delete Your Facebook Account - The Mac Observer
Facebook also says that you have a couple of delays to change your mind after placing a deletion request. You can cancel it by logging back in during that time, but your data is gone once the window closes.
After you do this you won't be able to see anything that you've ever posted to Facebook, and you won't be able to reactivate your account. If you want to temporarily suspend your account temporarily, follow our guide on how to deactivate Facebook.
How to Easily Remove Old Tweets and Facebook Posts
Here's how to fully delete Facebook. Twitter is like a water cooler for me, and some of my tweets may reflect that informal feeling. And to me, tweets are ephemeral, not meant to live in an archive.
How to turn off persistent FB desktop notifications on Mac (El Capitan)?
I'm not embarrassed by anything I've said, but it just seems like this is too much data to keep public for advertisers to scrape. So I decided to erase them. There are a number of so-called free tools that can help you delete old tweets, but the best one I found is Cardigan , a web-based app.
Most such tools have a limitation that is part of Twitter's API: Cardigan differs in that it lets you upload an archive of your tweets, and it can delete them all. To obtain your archived tweets, follow these steps:. Click Import Timeline Archive, and select the.
Cardigan will display a list of your tweets, and you can see that, at the top of the window, you have several options. There are two date fields, which you can use to limit which tweets you want to delete. For example, if you want to delete, say, all your tweets before the January of this year, click the second field and choose that date. Your timeline will update to reflect this filter. You can also filter by keywords—say your favorite sports team, or a specific hashtag—by entering that text in the Search box.
You can select individual tweets by clicking them, and then click Delete Selected to delete just those tweets, or Delete All to delete all the tweets that display according to your filters. Be aware that there is no undo, so make sure you really want to delete them.
How to Remove a Saved Password from a Browser
It takes a while for Cardigan to delete old tweets, because it simulates the process of deleting them individually. If you want to delete several years of Twitter activity, you may want to run this overnight. I've done it in steps, filtering a year at a time, to make it easier. After you've cleansed your Twitter account, you may want to come back from time to time to delete more recent tweets. You may only want to keep the last six months, or three months, or one month of your activity. Just go back to the site, update its list—if you have fewer than 3, tweets, you won't need to upload an archive again; Cardigan can fetch your tweets—and delete.
With Twitter, you have a single timeline, and three types of content: It's relatively easy to delete one type of content, as you saw above. When you view your Activity Log click the down-pointing arrow at the top right of the window, and then choose Activity Log , you'll see there's a very complex categorization for the content you've posted on Facebook. Below that you will see Apps; click more to see the names of apps you have used on Facebook. To the right of the timeline, you'll see a list of years; from back to the year you joined Facebook.
Click a year to see the content from that period.